Skip to main content

2024 State Minimum Wage Rates in Parts of the Country

By January 5, 2024February 27th, 2024No Comments

What is my state’s minimum wage?

It’s time again for a look at scheduled state- and local-level wage increases that will take effect on January 1, 2024, along with some rate changes that occurred in late 2023 before publication. Employers can use this information to determine the minimum amount they must pay non-exempt and certain exempt employees.

The chart below covers state and local minimum wage increases that have and will happen on January 1, 2024. Please note that pending future legislation may change state minimum wages.

Alabama Hawaii Michigan North Carolina Utah
Alaska Idaho Minnesota North Dakota Vermont
Arizona Illinois Mississippi Ohio Virginia
Arkansas Indiana Missouri Oklahoma Washington
California Iowa Montana Oregon West Virginia
Colorado Kansas Nebraska Pennsylvania Wisconsin
Connecticut Kentucky Nevada Rhode Island Wyoming
Delaware Louisiana New Hampshire South Carolina
District of Columbia Maine New Jersey South Dakota
Florida Maryland New Mexico Tennessee
Georgia Massachusetts New York Texas


State or Locality

Minimum Wage Rate


Alabama $7.25 Has no state minimum wage, and follows the federal minimum wage.
Alaska $11.73
Arizona $14.35
Flagstaff $17.40
Tucson $14.35 Originally, Tucson announced that the local minimum wage would increase to $14.25. Afterwards, however, the State of Arizona announced the state minimum wage would increase to $14.35. Whenever the state (or federal) minimum wage exceeds the local minimum wage, the latter increases to the former and becomes “the” local minimum wage.
Arkansas $11.00
California $16.00
Belmont $17.35
Burlingame $17.03
Cupertino $17.75
Daly City $16.62
East Palo Alto $17.00
El Cerrito $17.92
Foster City $17.00
Half Moon Bay $17.01
Hayward $16.90 (26 employees or more); State Law (fewer than 26 employees)
Los Altos $17.75
Menlo Park $16.70
Mountain View $18.75
Novato $16.86 (100 employees or more); $16.60 (26-99 employees); $16.64 (fewer than 25 employees)
Oakland $16.50
Palo Alto $17.80
Petaluma $17.45
Redwood City $17.70
Richmond $17.20 (without benefits); State Law (with benefits) If an employer pays at least $1.50 per hour per employee towards an employee medical benefits plan that allows the employee to receive employer-compensated care from a licensed physician, the employer can pay employees $1.50 per hour less than the minimum wage. However, claiming the full credit would cause an employee’s pay to drop below the state minimum wage.
San Carlos $16.87
San Diego $16.85
San Jose $17.55
San Mateo $17.35
San Mateo County $17.06
Santa Clara $17.75
Santa Rosa $17.45
Sonoma $17.60 (26 employees or more); $16.56 (fewer than 25 employees) At the time of publication, this is the rate the city announced; however, it has not yet explained how this figure was calculated.
South San Francisco $17.25
Sunnyvale $18.55
Colorado $14.42
Boulder County $15.69
Denver $18.29
Edgewater $15.02
Connecticut $15.69
Delaware $13.25
District of Columbia $17.00
Florida $12.00 $13.00 effective 9/30/24
Georgia $7.25
Hawaii $14.00
Idaho $7.25
Illinois $14.00
Cook County $14.00
Indiana $7.25
Iowa $7.25
Kansas $7.25
Kentucky $7.25
Louisiana $7.25 Has no state minimum wage, and follows the federal minimum wage.
Maine $14.15
Portland $15.00
Rockland $15.00
Maryland $15.00
Howard County $14.00 This rate applies to employers: 1) with 14 or fewer employees; 2) with federal tax-exempt status; 3) that provide home health services or home or community-based services and receive at least 75% of gross revenues through state and federal Medicaid programs; 4) that are a food service facility. The “general” rates will remain unchanged in 2024: $15.00; $3.63; and $11.37.
Massachusetts $15.00
Michigan $10.33
Minnesota $10.85 (more than $500K Gross Sales); $8.85 (others) This rate applies to: 1) an enterprise whose annual gross volume of sales made or business done is less than $500,000 (excluding separately stated retail excise taxes); and 2) a covered hotel, motel, lodging establishment, or resort (Minn. Stat. § 157.15) that enters into a contract with an employee working on a summer work travel exchange visitor program nonimmigrant visa (“J visa”) that includes a provision that the employer will provide a food or lodging benefit.
Minneapolis $15.57 (101 employees or more) This is the rate for “large” employers. On January 1, 2024, the minimum wage for “small” employers will remain $14.50, though it will become the “large” employer rate on July 1, 2024.
Saint Paul $15.57 (10,001 employees or more) This is the rate for “macro” employers. On January 1, 2024, the minimum wage for “large,” “small,” and “micro” businesses will remain $15.00, $13.00, and $11.50 per hour, respectively, though these rates will increase in July 2024.
Mississippi $7.25 Has no state minimum wage, and follows the federal minimum wage
Missouri $12.30
Montana $10.30
Nebraska $12.00
Nevada $11.25 $12.00 effective 7/1/24
New Hampshire $7.25
New Jersey $15.13 (general); $13.73 (small or seasonal); $18.13 (long-term care direct care staff)
New Mexico No Change
Las Cruces $12.36
New York $15.00
NYC $16.00
North Carolina $7.25
North Dakota $7.25
Ohio $10.45
Oklahoma $7.25
Oregon $14.20
Pennsylvania $7.25
Rhode Island $14.00
South Carolina $7.25 Has no state minimum wage, and follows the federal minimum wage.
South Dakota $11.20
Tennessee $7.25 Has no state minimum wage, and follows the federal minimum wage.
Texas $7.25
Utah $7.25
Vermont $13.67
Virginia $12.00
Washington $16.28
Seatac $19.71
Seattle $19.97 (schedule 1); $17.25 (schedule 2 minimum wage); $19.97 (schedule 2 minimum compensation)
Tukwilla $20.29 (501 employees or more); $18.29 (others) On January 1, 2024, the “other” rate is $2 per hour less than the “large” employer rate. On July 1, 2024, however, it increases to $1 less than the “large” employer rate, so $19.29 per hour.
West Virginia $8.75
Wisconsin $7.25
Wyoming $7.25

Exempt Employee Pay Changes

Executive, Administrative, and/or Professional Employees:

The following states have pay requirements that are:

  1. changing on January 1, 2024; and
  2. will exceed the minimum amount employers must currently pay exempt executive, administrative, and professional employees under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), i.e., $684 per week or $35,568 annually (see above concerning proposed rate changes).

Alaska, employees must be paid on a salary or fee basis at a rate of not less than twice the state minimum wage for the first 40 hours of employment each week, excluding employer-furnished board or lodging, the weekly minimum salary will increase from $868 to $938.40.

California, employees must earn a monthly salary equivalent to no less than twice the state minimum wage for full-time employment (employment in which an employee is employed for 40 hours per week), the weekly minimum salary will increase from $1,240 to $1,280.

Colorado, employees must be paid at least the salary amount established in regulations and the salary must be sufficient to pay the minimum wage for all hours in a workweek, the weekly minimum salary in the regulations will increase from $961.54 to $1,057.69.

Additionally, for purposes of the state’s highly compensated employee exemption, such employees must receive at least this weekly salary amount plus their annual salary must equal at least 2.25 times the rounded annual salary for exempt employees, which will increase from $112,500 to $123,750.

Maine, regular compensation, when converted to an annual rate, must exceed 3,000 times the state minimum wage or FLSA’s annual salary rate, whichever is higher, the annualized rate to exceed will increase from a salary that must exceed $41,000 (or $41,401 per the state labor department) to one that must exceed $42,450 (or $42,450.20 per the state labor department).

New York, an exempt executive or administrative employee must be paid a salary, including board, lodging, or other allowances and facilities, the weekly minimum salary will increase from $1,125 to $1,200 in New York City and Nassau, Suffolk, and Westchester Counties, and from $1,064.25 to $1,124.20 in the remainder of the state.

Technically, these rates are “proposed”; however, more likely than not the “final” rates should not change.

Washington State, employees must be paid on a salary or fee (if administrative or professional only) basis at a rate of not less than a specific multiplier of the state minimum wage for a 40-hour workweek, excluding board, lodging, or other facilities, the weekly minimum salary will increase from $1,101.80 to $1,302.40 (employers with 50 or fewer employees – 1.75 multiplier in 2023 and 2.00 multiplier in 2024) and from $1,259.20 to $1,302.40 (employers with 51 or more employees – 2.00 multiplier in 2023 and 2024).

Exempt Employees Covered by Minimum Wage:

In various states, employees covered by the executive, administrative, professional, or outside sales exemptions are exempt from state overtime requirements, but not exempt from state minimum wage requirements.
In these jurisdictions, such employees must earn at least the applicable minimum wage for each hour worked in a workweek. Of these states, the following will increase their minimum wage on January 1, 2024: Arizona (All 4 exemptions), Colorado, Illinois, New Jersey, Rhode Island (possibly), and South Dakota. Additionally, in Arizona and Colorado, there will be increases in local minimum wage rates.

Instructors at Non-Profit Private Higher Education Institutions:

In California, the law also provides that employees providing instruction for a course or laboratory at non-profit higher education institutions are exempt if, in addition to performing certain duties, they are paid a monthly salary equivalent to no less than twice the state minimum wage for a 40-hour workweek or, when employed per course or per laboratory, they receive a minimum payment per “classroom hour,” which will increase from $139.50 to $144 per hour.


For more than 40 years, 501(c) Services has been a leader in offering solutions for unemployment costs, claims management, and HR support to nonprofit organizations. Two of our most popular programs are the 501(c) Agencies Trust and 501(c) HR Services. We understand the importance of compliance and accuracy and are committed to providing our clients with customized plans that fit their needs.

Contact us today to see if your organization could benefit from our services.

Are you already working with us and need assistance with an HR or unemployment issue? Contact us here.

We want to thank our friends at Littler Mendelson P.C. for providing us with this information.

The information contained in this article is not a substitute for legal advice or counsel and has been pulled from multiple sources.

(Photo credit: Frimufilms)

501c Services newsletter sign up - popup graphic envelope letter

Keep up with
the news

Subscribe to our monthly newsletter for timely updates, news, and events.